i. Seleucid Period.

ii. Parthian Period.

iii. Sasanian Period.

iv. Central Asian.

v. Islamic, pre-Safavid.

vi. Safavid to Qajar Periods; see also Art in Iran x. Qajar Period.

vii. Pahlavi, before World War II.

viii. Pahlavi, after World War II.


For the Median and Achaemenid periods, see Archeology ii. Median and Achaemenid.

(Multiple Authors)

Originally Published: December 15, 1986

Last Updated: August 11, 2011

This article is available in print.
Vol. II, Fasc. 3-4, pp. 326-355